Touchdown!

Well well well. 100 days, 9 countries (10 if you count Wales – Rob is…) and one hell of a lot of photos later – we are HOOOOME!

DSCF6530

*disclaimer – Rob does have a tan, it’s just he’s standing next to me, so you can’t see it…

That photo was taken at Bangkok International Airport at 2pm on Wednesday, and a mere 25 hours later (!) I was strolling through my front door. The Big Flight itself was fine – we got Haagen Dazs with our tea (!!) and even managed to sleep for a bit. The worst part was the 5 hour wait at Hong Kong while waiting for our connection! But it was kind of nice to end the trip back where we started it. There is a special spot on the floor of Hong Kong airport (1st floor, by the Starbucks) that part of me will always call home. <3.

I’m still getting used to the fact that I can get drinking water from the tap, and not the 7-Eleven down the road, and occasionally have an urge to douse my hands in sanitiser gel, but I. Am. Home.

Two overriding thoughts on being back: 1) Britain is so QUIET… I spent 10 minutes trying to find my earplugs before I went to bed on Thursday, then realised “that weird noise” outside was… silence. And 2) Cheerios are the best thing ever. I would say “I’d forgotten how good Cheerios were”, but let’s face it, I hadn’t.

I’ve spent the last couple of days waking up at 4am, unpacking, and trying to remember that I no longer have to get maximum wear out of an item of clothing before it goes in the wash bin (ewww).

I have SO many photos and posts to come sharing a snapshot of my memories of each place, so stay tuned! Meanwhile you can of course read the blogs I wrote while I was out there for Oneworld365 – you may have already seen them if you follow me on Twitter.

Ahh. It’s good to be back. Did you miss me!?

2 thoughts on “Touchdown!

  1. You were wise enough to not to mediate the entire trip through twitter, so if only in that regard, you were missed! (that’s quite a nuanced way of being cheeky). Your blogs induced jealousy and admiration in equal measure. Given your present circumstances – middle aged, unemployed – (blatantly cheeky) I do hope you will take the time to write a substantial account of your travels. In the interim, a blog post ‘What I Will do Next’ will be interesting!

    • Being “off the grid”, as it were, was very strange at first… The world (and my brain!) seemed a lot quieter without Twitter constantly in the background! But I’m glad to have been missed, if not to now find myself as you so eloquently put it, middle aged and unemployed… Fear not though, I have a What to Do Next plan!

Leave a Reply

