Rewarding

Awesome weekend in the sun. Is there anything better than sunshine?

We were meant to go surfing in Porthcawl yesterday, but while gorgeous, the sea was flat as a pancake. Booo! It’s okay though, we’ll rebook it in a couple of weeks – and I still got a day at the beach. I swear, I don’t know what it is about being by the sea, but I just feel… better. Calmer, happier, like I’ve been filled up, if that makes any sense? I joke that I’m part mermaid; I genuinely pine for it. Every now and then, I just need to stand on a clifftop and look at the sea.

Today was more landlocked but still pretty perfect! A lazy morning and an afternoon reading on a blanket in the park. I always think that the whole “Sunday night blues” conundrum only really comes out of guilt from not making the most of your weekend. Granted, it’s much easier to do that when it’s beautiful outside, but still…!

It’s also easier when you’re, like me, lucky enough to genuinely enjoy your job. Don’t get me wrong, I still relish the Friday clocking-off point, and 2 days without looking at my emails! But when you have that you don’t really mind Mondays.

I spent a couple of hours pre-park today writing an award entry for work. We’re entering the CIPR Cymru PRide awards, in two categories, Outstanding Small Consultancy and Outstanding Young Communicator – yep, erm, me!

I was so chuffed when my boss said he wanted to enter me. I really feel like I’m on my game nowadays – I’ve grown so much in confidence since I started at the agency, and especially in the past 6 months. And while I’m a bit embarassed about blowing my own trumpet, I am good at my job (*cringe*)! So it’s nice that they have faith in me too, and want to put me forward.

It’s a little bit daunting as I’ve read some of the other entrants, and some of them are like Account Directors. Anyone under 30 can enter, so there are obviously going to be people with a few more years on me in the running. But that doesn’t necessarily mean they’ll win. I just need my drive and my strengths to come across.

I’ve actually enjoyed writing the entry, as it’s really helped me clarify what my strengths are, and the bits of my job and of the industry that I love the most. I haven’t had the opportunity to do as much on the strategy side before now, managing two of our clients, and I really enjoy it. And while it was scary to lead on the accounts as first, to be the first point of contact for some pretty high-profile business – to have to have the answers – that responsibility doesn’t daunt me any more. If anything it’s pushing me to step  up, to do the best job I can.

It’s been a strangely enjoyable process, and has left me even more determined to do well in this industry. I’ve written in my industry that I hit the ground running in PR – I did my first work experience placement when I was 15, and once I’d had that first taste, I never wanted to do anything else. And that’s true. So it’s incredibly rewarding to know I’m getting there. Even if I don’t win 🙂

One thought on “Rewarding

  1. Pingback: POW! (part 2) | What I Did Next

Leave a Reply

