Top Ten Tuesday!

Starting something new today! Tuesdays are, from now on on Did Next, going to be Top Ten Tuesdays. I was talking to a friend today who has a “Wishlist Wednesday” on her blog and, well… I like that idea. It’ll be on anything and everything, either things I can recommend or things I can’t wait to do/have/see/eat/experience myself (your own recommendations very welcome, of course). It’s the summer, and -finally!- SUNNY outside, so my debut Tuesday Top Ten was a no-brainer.

I am such a summer person. I live for summer, for long lazy evenings, for flip flops and beach hair, for the beach full stop! I was brought up by the seaside and don’t think my heart’s ever truly left.

And summer means one thing, and that’s holidays. Travelling. New places, new people; it’s the best thing I’ve ever done and I can’t wait for more! Some people go through life only ever wanting to own a company, or get married, or win the lottery. But if I could do anything? It would be to see as much of the world as I possibly can.

So… my Top Ten Travel Destinations are!

1. New Zealand.

milford_33

I was a big Lord Of The Rings fan, and used to stare at a crumpled torn-out newspaper ad of Milford Sound for hours! Ideally I’d get a campervan and just take my time soaking up the chilled out atmos of these gorge islands.

2. Sydney.

sydney

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve always been more NZ then Oz, but it’s only really Sydney I’m yearning for. I saw the Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb (as in, over the top of it! At sunset, or sunrise – I KNOW) on that “Holiday” programme when I was about 13. It’s been on my bucket list ever since <3.

3. Edinburgh.

Royal-Mile-Edinburgh-Scotland

Mum and I have started to plan a little Edinburgh trip many times in the past, but something always intervenes! Preferably for the Festival – but now we’re thinking Six Nations..?

4. Vietnam.

halong

It just looks beautiful. And the food!! I want to see “real” Asia, and as fun as Thailand looks, that for me is sans tourists and Full Moon Parties. (And did I mention the food?!)

5. Malaysia.

penang

A real mish-mash of a place. Penang in particular looks pretty cool. Just totally different to here – that’s why travelling’s so great, because it shows you how insignificant your life, your way of life, is in the grand scheme of things. There are millions of people living each day very, very differently. Why wouldn’t you want to know more?

6. France.

frnc

A little closer to home, I know! I’ve been to Paris, and to Eurodisney (amazeballs), but there’s so much more to it that I know I’d love. I’d like to just hire a gite in the countryside somewhere and get on a bix and explore. Sleepy villages, a more peaceful way of life. And again – the food!!

7. Peru.

inca

More specifically, the Inca Trail. That’s up there on the bucket list too!

8. Florida.

univ

Ok, it’s a bit cheesey… but who doesn’t want to do that Big Florida Holiday, at some point in their life? We could never do it when we were all kids (I’m one of 4 – going to Tescos was enough hassle!). But as a big film lover I know Universal Studios would be awesome. And don’t get me started on Harry Potter World! (And Seaworld, and Disney….!)

9. Prague.

prg

The boy’s been twice, but I haven’t yet! A good city break every now and then is lush, isn’t it? Prague is to me a winter city – I’m thinking snuggly coats, face-stinging walks, warming mulled drinks and good food. Food seems to be becoming a theme here…

10. And finally, the place I would visit if I could ONLY ever visit ONE more place EVER again would be New York, New York.

nyc

 

Just thinking about it gives me butterflies. I can’t decide if I’d rather go in the summer – Central Park, the humidity, sidewalks becoming catwalks – or the winter – the park in the snow, Christmas shopping, ice skating like on Home Alone…. Ok, maybe the winter would win. But only just!!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday!

  1. Pingback: It’s on. | What I Did Next

Leave a Reply

