Looking for a challenge

There has been much talk of marathons in our office of late. The week after my 10K my manager ran the Hague Half Marathon (consider myself trumped) – her second one in a year, after the Cardiff one last October! My boss is also a bit of a fitness afficionado, having done the New York marathon 5 times ‘back in the day’. We may eat a lot of cupcakes in this office, but we’re good influences on each other too!

It’s got me wondering, though… Since the run I’ve found myself hankering after a new challenge. I’m going to do the 10K Race for Life in June (hola bikini-bod for Spain in July) but I’ve also been thinking… what about something a little bigger?

I’m a firm believer that there are many things in life you can’t really be “ready” for until you just go and do it. You grow into it – you may be chucked in the deep end, but you learn to swim. Uni was one, starting my job was another – hey, I’ve got to have two fillings in a couple of weeks, and have no idea what that’s going to be like. The best way to do it is not to over think. Just do.

If you’re drinking a cup of tea (I am) I’d recommend you put it down for this next part, as it may make you laugh. Which we all know, while drinking tea, can result in snorting tea out of your nose. Consider yourself warned. Discussing challenges in our lovely, jolly, and particularly fitness-friendly office… it was suddenly suggested that we enter this as a team. Yep. A fancy dress mini triathlon.

The weirdest part is… I’m kind of considering it!!

I’m also considering a half marathon myself. When I asked Twitter what my next challenge should be, a half was my instantaneous response from a uni friend of mine. She’s doing the Reading half this weekend, having never run a 5k or a 10k. Obviously she’s been training for this – and as long as you’ve prepared well, surely that’s all you need. The Race for Life is in June so… potential Cardiff half in October!? If for no other reason, it would give me free reign to eat SO MUCH birthday cake the week after…

I want to be one of those people, like my boss, who can look back and tell stories about the Things They Did. Like I said, the best way to do something is to just do it. And if you never do anything, well, you’ll never do anything! So I’m thinking… why not!?

150

Now, the triathlon. The real question is – what are we going to dress up as?!…

Leave a Reply

