Music to my ears

On another note (pun genuinely not intended! ha), it occurred to me recently that I really do not post enough about music. I LOVE music. It’s punctuates pretty much everything I do… and I love how a song can instantly transport you back to an incredibly specific memory, a place, a person, a feeling. Never Forget You by The Noisettes starts playing and I am back on a jetty in Croatia, watching the boy attempting to snorkel. American Boy by Estelle and Kanye West is the song that broke the ice when we met – we had a rap battle (I won). And whenever I hear Teenage Dirtbag I HAVE to tell my best friend, after we rocked the house with it at our school leaver’s assembly. Nobody knew we could even play anything.

I’ve been to so many amazing gigs and tend to get a little bit overinvolved…  I have been known to have a little “moment” (aka, a little cry) at a gig. Ed Sheeran, Mumford and Sons, I’m looking at you. Some people might see it as overthinking the music, but I just get hooked in to some records… the only way I can explain it is by saying it feels like you’re inside the song. I genuinely don’t understand people who aren’t into music. How can it not affect you?

My song-of-the-moment changes pretty much every day but right now it is this: Pompeii by Bastille, a band I’ve heard snippets of in the past and been meaning to investigate. Love love love!

There’s also this, which I will admit isn’t exactly highbrow but…. that saxophone!! It makes me want to dance. And also rave in TK Maxx. I won’t tell you how many times I listened to this at the weekend. And 81 million views on Youtube can’t be wrong. Silly (and I should warn about explicit lyrics!) but it makes me happy – exactly what music is supposed to do.

 

Leave a Reply

