Waterworks

So… this is my bathroom.

BAGxSl9CcAEpna4

I’m having some plumbing issues.

*sigh*

It’s so frustrating when there are things wrong with your home. You want to come home and feel relaxed and cocooned. Not paranoid about what else has gone wrong each time you open the front door!

It started on Sunday with Toilet-gate, which I’m not going into as frankly, it was kind of gross. Monday an electrician came to fix the light (which had just been knocked out of place my Mr and Mrs Stomp-Around upstairs). Tuesday I had a phone call from the plumbers saying they were going to take me to court if I didn’t pay them (they came on Sunday, and had neither finished the job nor contacted me since – ringing from an unknown number that I can’t call back doesn’t count!). Tuesday evening they came back to fix the toilet and relieved my travelling savings fund of £150 for the pleasure (I’ll get it back from the landlord – well, most of it – but not til the end of the month). So, the toilet’s fixed, but the wall… looks like that.

I’m still not sure why he had to do that to the wall to fix the toilet… but anyway, while he was rummaging around in there he found a slow leak, which explains why there’s been damp on the wall and the carpet. And fair play, I guess I agree with him on the fact that there’s no point in putting the wall back over a damp patch, as it’ll only get worse. But in the mean time – there’s a hole in my wall!! A big, damp hole!! And a binbag-wrapped bit of wall (black with mould on the back, may I add) in my cupboard!! The damp’s making me paranoid. I’ve had a really dry, scratchy throat all week and I can’t help but think the two are related.

There’s someone on their way round at the moment to look at it. The plumber said the leak wouldn’t be difficult to fix, I’m just worried I’ve opened a can of worms, and am about to reveal a huge underlying problem. There’s a similar patch of damp on the ceiling, which I’d hate to find out is the same problem in the flat above me.

And I don’t want it to be decided it’s the responsibility of the people who built the block, and it end up just getting passed back and forth, ad infinitium. *sigh*. I just want my flat fixed.

It’s been a bit of a rough few days without all this, now Rob’s away. Even if it isn’t a huge deal, it just reinforces to me that I’m having to deal with it on my own. I can tell it bothers him that he’s not here to help sort it all out – it’s not like he could fix it if he was here, but at least we could be mutually pissed off!

I know this is just something you have to deal with when you have your own place, and I said I wanted to be treated like more of an adult… But I kind of meant as in having friends round for dinner. Or having my parents to me for Christmas. Not holes in walls.

Hopefully I’ll have some more positive New-Year-news soon!…

Leave a Reply

