“I just inhaled some of my beard” – Cardiff Santa Jog 2012

I did it!

sallysanta

Today, I achieved something. I can tick something off the list. I ran my first ever 5K – the British Heart Foundation’s Cardiff Santa Jog. And I did it in 35 minutes, 47 seconds!

It was so much fun. It was hard, and I was determined to do it without stopping, but when Rob told me our time at the end of the race I was genuinely chuffed with myself! In the gym I run at a pace of about 9 minutes a kilometre, so I was pretty pleased to have done it at about 7 minutes instead! I think running with someone definitely helps – particularly if that someone’s legs are nearly a foot longer than yours. It was hard to find a pace at first – I saw people rushing past me and was panicking that I was going too slowly – but it’s taught me the value of finding a comfortable level and staying with it. A lesson for the future!

santa2

santa3

The last kilometre was tough. Coming back along the Taff with the Swalec stadium on one side, I remember thinking, “This is hard.” But once I was back on the path through the Park, then able to see the Castle (aka, the Finish Line!), I was determined to do it without stopping – we even sprinted the last part! Got to finish in style you see… And having people clapping you in really does make such a difference! It’s an instant energy boost – we made sure we hung around for a while at the end to pass on the favour.

Seeing the Castle chock full of Santas at 9 o’clock on a Sunday was surreal – as was getting changed in Cafe Nero across the road – but just brilliant. People were singing carols as we went round, and the route itself was brilliant – we’re so lucky to have Bute Park slap bang in the middle of the city. I’ve tried to spot myself in the photos the paper posted online but that’s the only problem with doing the Santa Run… it’s hard to stand out!

santa4

I absolutely loved it. It may not seem very far compared to people who’ve done 10Ks, half marathons, marathons… but I hated running until about 6 months ago. I couldn’t run for 10 minutes, let alone 3 miles. So for me at least, it’s an achievement, and I’m proud 🙂 I particularly enjoyed the part afterwards, when I got to “reward” myself with a Terry’s Chocolate Orange…

So with this under my (Santa) belt, that 10K I was thinking of doing in March?… Count me in!

PS. It’s not too late to sponsor me either 😉 click here!

Leave a Reply

