Hello, Netherlands calling…

So, you know when you get to kind of this point in a week, and you think – this is totally not how I thought this week would go? Yeah, having one of those weeks.

Basically, Rob’s moving to Holland.

In January.

The 5th of January to be precise.

(It probably won't look this this.)

(It probably won’t look this this.)

I’m really, honestly, completely chuffed for him – and I’m really, really glad that my first reaction last night was to express that and jump on him! He’s doing an internship in The Hague for 10 weeks, working in the prosecutor’s office. It’s going to be an amazing experience, he is going to learn so much and get to do so much. And – fingers crossed – it’s something pretty good for the ol’ CV when it comes to pupillage interview time again. If you weren’t around when all that was going on… have a look at my posts from this summer. Not that much fun.

It’s just bizarre, how things happen just as you stop thinking about them. That’s what I thought was the theme of this summer – turns out it’s more like the theme of this year! He’d kind of resigned himself to being in his current job (which he really doesn’t enjoy, and isn’t the best thing he could be doing CV-wise), despite bashing out twenty odd applications for Other Things. Then suddenly, this!

It means I’ll be living on my own for a bit… and I’m not going to lie, I’m not looking forward to that. When he left for work this morning (I usually have about half an hour pottering around to get myself ready after he goes), I got a bit emo-gremlin-y, scowling to myself, “This is how it’s going to be all the time.” He’s gone to football tonight, and I really didn’t want him to go – it’s weird, knowing we’re about to be separated for a little while, I’ve developed pre-emptive abandonment issues.

It probably is going to suck at times. But, I’m trying to persuade myself otherwise. It’ll be good for me to experience living by myself. Ever so slightly jealous that he gets to experience living abroad… you know, the thing I’ve always wanted to do…! When he first talked about applying for the Holland thing I thought I could maybe go too and teach English. But the timing’s a bit quick for all that! And it’ll encourage me to make an effort to see people, and make myself busy. And think how much writing I’ll get done. With no-one to talk to. Ho hum.

I know it’s going to suck. I know I’m going to really, really miss him. But it’s not forever. It’s not even that long really. And I’ll get to go see him. We look back on Oxford now with rose tinted glasses – how excited I’d be when I spotted him on the platform, experiencing a new city, meeting new friends… I’m sure when he touches back down on the 19th of March, this will be the same.

I know, I know. It’s going to suck.

Leave a Reply

