News, woes, and #NaNoWriMo

People of blog-dom!

It’s been a while. I’m terribly sorry. It’s been a good few weeks since I did some good old blogging – indeed, it’s been a good few weeks since I did anything, really. I’ll explain shortly. And I do have excuses! Luckily, however, I also have some posts lined up, after swirling around in my mind over the past fortnight’s course of events.

So what’s new? Well. I’ve been to London. I’ve been to Dublin. And I’ve been to A&E.

Let’s start with that last one.

In a nutshell, I had a drink spiked. That drink was water, may I add – the irony – and water I took my eye off for less than a minute. Not that that’s an excuse. An hour later and I’m feeling more terrible than I’ve ever felt in my life, and waiting for my first ever trip in an ambulance. Not fun.

After 4 hours waiting to be seen, they couldn’t give me any definite answers, but repeatedly asked me if I’d taken anything and made pointed comments about my heart rate and blood sugar. Hmm. I don’t know. I just reckon. It was such an out of character way for my body to behave – I’ve had food poisoning a few times, but this was completely different.  It’s a really nasty realization. It makes me feel scared, that I could have been targeted by someone who spikes girls’ drinks – even their water! That that kind of person could have been next to me at a bar, waiting for me to look away. And it makes me feel sad. Who knows, maybe I’m a bit of an idealist, but it makes me sad that that kind of person is out there. It makes me wonder why they act that way.

But importantly, it made me realise that that kind of person is out there, and even if you are brilliant at watching my drinks and being “the responsible one” 99.999% of the time… that tiny little margin is still there.

And luckily, I still made it to Dublin, a photo diary of which is coming soon!

But first, an announcement. I don’t know if I’m just having a funny day today, but I’ve made a decision…. I’m going to attempt #NaNoWriMo this year. Argh!!

For those of you who’ve never heard of it, it’s the *other* month-long project people work on throughout November. You know, the one that doesn’t involve facial hair. It stands for National Novel Writing Month… I know. Scary times. But how many times have I sketched things out, and made notes, and felt my brain whirling with ideas… and done nothing about it? Too many! You’re supposed to reach 50,000 words (that’s twice my dissertation) (oh God.. that’s *twice* my dissertation!!) by November the 30th. Not everyone makes it, but I’ve always wanted to try. So this year, I am!

Dublin photos coming soon. I have a feeling I’m going to be spending a lot of the next few weeks tied to my laptop!…

Leave a Reply

