It’s official!

Signed my contract today 🙂 I have an Official Full Time Job. An Official Full Time PR Job. Ha!!

This might not make any sense – I started working at the agency on a 10 week trial through Go Wales, technically a work experience placement. And even though I was preeeetty sure they’d be keeping me on – my manager always said he was hiring with a view to them staying on – it was so exciting to actually have the contract in my hands!

We had a quiet hour or so this afternoon, so my manager suggested we had our little chat now. He ran through my appraisal, which I was a little bit nervous about – not because I was expecting there to be some kind of raft of criticisms, it’s just always nervy getting told how you’re doing! – but it went well 🙂 I actually found it really helpful. I remember my mum being peeved at not getting one for a few years in a row (that’s changed now, though, in case you’re some kind of employment lawyer!!) and now I can see why!

It was great to hear what I’m doing well – and the fact that they think I’m doing well, of course! – and that they like how I’ve settled in with the team. I love our little team – it’s great to work so closely, and to get so much responsibility, and I know that whenever I ask they’ll help me out. And, as time goes on, I’ll learn just what I need to ask, and what I can sort out myself. That’s one of the things my manager mentioned as an area to improve – my judgement – but I know it’ll come with time. I remember thinking how “on it” Becci seemed when I first started, but once I’ve been there that kind of time, I know I will be too!

Another thing to work on is my presentation skills. This is something I kind of knew I wanted to improve – it’s not necessarily that I’m not confident doing presentations, I just haven’t had much experience of actually doing it. My manager suggested maybe doing a presentation skills course, which I’d be really up for! I reckon if something makes you anxious, the best way to get over it is to just do it is much as you can – then it doesn’t seem scary any more. (This rule does not apply to #1 Sharks and #2 the Jurassic Park movies – they will always terrify me.) He mentioned I can seem a bit “timid” on the phone too – and again I agree; I’m still figuring out how to handle different kinds of calls (clients, journalists, people trying to get you to buy adverts..) – and to work out what kind of call they are to start with. But again – give me time and I’ll get it. Plus, I maintain that the one time I really did sound timid I’d picked up the phone literally as I walked into the office and hadn’t spoken to anyone yet that day, so I had weird-morning-croaky-voice going on… My manager literally laughed out loud when I answered – v embarassing!

So. Contract is signed, photocopied, filed – boom. Happy days 🙂 Yay me!

2 thoughts on “It’s official!

  1. Many congratulations Sally! To me, it was obvious from your twitter feed how well you were settling in – the shoes seemed a perfect fit from the moment you tried them on – is the analogy that springs to mind! Equally as important was how much you seemed to be enjoying the job and the people you were working with.I ‘m genuinely impressed with how you seemed to rise to the challenge of The Breakfast Club. It’s always so cool to see your name in the business section of The Western Mail! I’m sure your presentation skills only need developing rather than correcting. Certainly, your blog consistently demonstrates your written skills. Again, Well done Sally!
    Give yourself an extra cereal treat in the morning, you deserve it!
    Dave Edwards 🙂

    • Hiya Dave! Thanks so much for all your comments 🙂 and for reminding me I accidentally outed myself as a cereal FIEND… I really am loving it, can’t wait for the next few months. It’s going to be pretty awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

