Busy week!

I realised when I woke up this morning that it was THURSDAY.

How on EARTH is it Thursday already!?

The weeks really do just fly by here. I love it! Once it gets to Wednesday morning it’s like a slip-slide almost, wheeee, and then it’s suddenly Friday again.

Tomorrow (Friday rocketing round again) we’ve got a meeting with a journalist from ITV Wales. I’m really looking forward to it! Obviously relationship forming with journalists – that is what PR is about, when you boil it down. Building those relationships. But all the PR blogs I read has given me the (not necessarily true) impression that, well, that all journalists hate PR’s. That we’re annoying and interrupt them and constantly try and push our clients’ stories on to them, when they aren’t interested.

Not necessarily so, my friends – that’s bad PR. You have to invest in relationships, like we are with this meeting tomorrow – get to know them, what they cover and what they’re interested in, and then pass them things that will genuinely tick those boxes.

Plus she sounded really warm and friendly and definitely not scary on the phone, which is a plus.

I’ve also got started on a new project this week involving one of our bigger clients, a kitchen and bedrooms company. We put together a mini lifestyle mag/newsletter for them 3 to 4 times a year (this is issue 3, Spring 2012). They want to up the sales ante with this one, but still not make it too heavy-handed a push, so I’ll get to write a couple of lifestyle-type features to. With my penchant for ogling kitchens on Pinterest and serious magazine habit, well… I know this is going to be fun. It’s a project I’m really going to enjoy and, hopefully, with my experience, do really well for them!

I’m also looking more seriously at the CIM Digital Marketing Diploma, which I may be able to get some GO Wales funding for. I was initially looking into the CIPR certificate that my predecessor here did, but thinking about it I’ve decided a more progressive qualification would be a better use of my time. Becci had zero PR experience when she started, whereas I had quite a lot, plus a Linguistics masters that had given me a pretty solid grasp of communication theory. Plus, I heart social media, and we all know that PR and Marketing is only going to get more digital… And let’s face it, I’m a bit of a geek, I was never going to stay away from education for that long, was I!

Leave a Reply

