H.I.I.F – How is it Friday!?

Phew! This feels like the longest week ever! Can you believe I still worked for the Union on Monday? Still trudged up to the Heath and back, half an hour in the rain? Or that I’ve only worked for Petersens for two days!?

I’m already starting to feel things click. A lot of the stuff I’m responsible for is the kind of thing that you learn to do by, well, doing it. And even though it’s longer days than I’m maybe used to, it doesn’t feel like that. It goes really quickly, there’s always something to do, and above all I’m enjoying it.

The amount I have to learn is still slightly daunting. Hope I can ‘get’ it. I know I will. I’m never going to know everything when I’ve just started. I spent the day reading up on one of the bigger clients I’ll be dealing with, and in a few months I’ll be on a roll! It’s just a bit scary at the moment, the amount I don’t know. Maybe I should talk to the girl who’s leaving about it, ask how she felt when she started.

It’s awesome, though. I love telling people what I did all day. I love that my Facebook says ‘Account Executive’ on it! It’s crazy to think I’m getting paid to do this now, and for more than like a 2 week placement. For the forseeable future! I just still feel like the shoes are a little big. I know, I know – I’ve been there two days! But I set high standards for myself – I always want to be the best straight off. But I’m learning fast; it’ll come in time.

I’ve been thinking more about the CIPR course. I don’t want to rush into it simply because I’m in a bit of an induction-related panic. It looks like it would be good, and incredibly interesting, but I don’t know a huge amount about it, or what it covers, and it’s the best part of a grand even if I do get Go Wales funding. I don’t know if it’s the kind of thing that gives you an edge, or if I’d be over-egging the pudding, and should concentrate on learning by really getting stuck in. I know I’d get super excited by the theory side, being the linguistics/communication nerd that I am! But it’s a lot of money to spend on something merely out of personal interest. If it would be professionally beneficial, too – that’s more compelling.

So, not a decision to be taken lightly! Especially when I’m meant to be saving. Don’t think I could, or would want to, ask Mum and Dad to help with it – I am thoroughly relishing my new state of (relative) financial independance, after the walking guilt-ridden sponge I was during my Masters..!!

It’s been a big 48 hours! I was going to go to the gym tonight but I’m sleepy. The boyf and I are going ice skating tomorrow night (then NANDOS, yum!) which is good exercise! We’re big Nandos fans. We always forget it exists, then once a year go crazy on the peri peri.

Lie in tomorrow. I’m tired, but in a geeky way I’m kind of looking forward to Monday. Cringe. I’m search a nerd…! Have a lovely weekend everybody.

Leave a Reply

